Politics (City Council)

Peter Paul - President of the city council

The city council (Bürgerschaft) represents the citizens and is the supreme policy-setting and decision-making body of the Hanseatic City of Stralsund.
The city council is responsible for all important matters concerning the city, especially matters that, owing to their political weight or economic impact are of fundamental importance for the city.

Peter Paul, President of the city council

Current council term 2014-2019

Presidium of the city council

President Peter Paul
First Deputy President Thomas Schulz
Second Deputy President Maria Quintana Schmidt

Allocation of seats

Number of council members: 43

Parliamentary group CDU/FDP

14 Seats

Parliamentary group Bürger für Stralsund / AfD

8 Seats

Parliamentary group SPD

6 Seats

Parliamentary group Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen

6 Seats

Parliamentary group LINKE offene Liste

5 Seats

Individual members Wählergruppe Adomeit

2 Seats

Individual member AfD 

1 Seat

Individual member NPD

1 Seat
City Council of the Hanseatic City of Stralsund | President | Post Box 2145 | 18408 Stralsund | GERMANY
0049 3831 252 186
0049 3831 252 188

City Profile

Tradition meets Modernity: Not only is the year 1234 easy to remember, it also marks the beginning of Stralsund’s exciting 780-year history.

More information